Kindergarten Registration

Kindergarten is one of the most exciting times in a child’s life. Ensuring each child makes a successful transition from home to school is a goal for parents and teachers.

Foothills School Division’s Kindergarten programs build on what your child has already learned at home and in your community. In Kindergarten, children explore and experiment with their environment and learn how to interact with others. The Kindergarten program, which is funded by Alberta Education, addresses seven learning areas:

  • Early Literacy
  • Early Numeracy
  • Citizenship and Identity
  • Environment and Community Awareness
  • Personal and Social Responsibility
  • Physical Skills and Well-being
  • Creative Expression

The purpose of Kindergarten is to provide learning experiences that are developmentally appropriate in order to meet the diverse needs of children and to promote a positive attitude towards lifelong learning.  Learn more by visiting our Early Learning section.

You may register your child by visiting your local elementary school (School Boundary Maps). A registration form must be filled out for each student even if siblings are attending the same school. You will be required to provide your child’s Birth Certificate (or proof of citizenship), Immunization Records, and Proof of Address.

Children who turn five years of age on or before December 31, 2018 will be eligible to enter kindergarten in September 2018.


Kindergarten Open House Dates:

Okotoks Area:
Big Rock School:  January 25, 2018, 6:00 - 8:00pm    (including Junior Kindergarten and Montessori)
Westmount School:  January 25, 2018, 6:00 - 8:00pm
Ecole Percy Pegler School:  January 25, 2018, 6:00 - 8:00pm    (including French Immersion Kindergarten)
Dr. Morris Gibson School:  January 25, 2018, 6:00 - 8:00pm
Heritage Heights School:  January 24, 2018, 7:00 - 8:00pm

High River Area:
Ecole Joe Clark School:  February 7, 2018, 6:00 - 7:00pm    (including Junior Kindergarten)
Spitzee School:  February 7, 2018, 6:00 - 7:00pm    (Junior Kindergarten March 28, 2018, 6:00 - 7:00pm)
Cayley School:  March 13, 2018, 7:00 - 8:00pm    (including Junior Kindergarten)
Blackie School:  March 14, 2018, 5:00 - 6:00pm    (including Junior Kindergarten)

High Country Area:
Millarville School:  Feburary 8, 2018, 7:00 - 8:00pm
Turner Valley School:  January 25, 2018, 6:30 - 7:30pm
C. Ian McLaren School:  January 25, 2018, 5:00 - 7:00pm
Red Deer Lake School:  April 19, 2018, 6:30 - 7:30pm
Longview School: February 7, 2018, 5:00 - 7:00pm


For more information on Foothills School Division kindergarten programs, you may review our Administrative Procedure.